WhatsApp disappearing messages is the new anticipated feature introduced by the messaging platform. The messages sent using this feature will be deleted after seven days. Facebook-owned messaging service has started rolling out this feature across all platforms. These include Android, iOS, WhatsApp Web and also for KaiOS users.
According to the company, this new interesting feature is supposed to be utilised for messages/media that need not be everlasting. For instance, if you want to share an address with contact or in a group for the time being — you can turn on disappearing messages and share it. It will be deleted automatically after seven days, giving you one less thing to worry about. However, users can still access that message by copying it or taking a screenshot of it within seven days.
The disappearing messages can include photos or media, documents, location, alongside texts as well. After seven days these will get deleted for both parties on either end. This is a one-to-one chat feature and assuming you are the group admin you can utilise this in groups too.
WhatsApp disappearing messages — across platforms
While the feature works across all the platforms mentioned above, here’s a step by step process on how to enable/disable it.
How to use WhatsApp disappearing messages feature
Firstly, this feature is relatively identical across all platforms, and the process of enabling it is also fairly the same.
- Users need to be on the latest version of WhatsApp according to their respective App or Play Stores.
- Since it’s a one-to-one chat feature, users need to head over to the individual contact to enable this feature. After selecting, tap beside the contact name, wherein you will get to enter the contact profile.
- Scrolling down, you can find the new Disappearing Messages category. Click on it and enable the feature by selecting ‘on’.
- After doing that head over to the individual contact’s chat section, and you’ll find a new icon on the display profile indicating the feature is on for further conversations. The messaging platform also shows within the conversation that the disappearing messages is turn on for both individuals.
- Note, the previous chat and media doesn’t include in this new feature despite enabling it — only the new chat and media post enabling the feature will be deleted after seven days.
- Following that users can now send any texts or media within the chat, which gets automatically deleted after seven days.
- Disabling the feature is relatively similar — head over to contact profile – select disappearing messages– you can turn it off. And, this step by step process works for groups, again, assuming you are the admin.
- Lastly, this step by step process works across all platforms like iOS, Android, Web or Desktop, and KaiOS as well.
WhatsApp disappearing messages — rollout
It will be interesting to see how the whopping two billion users utilise this feature as it has started to roll out users globally. Users who forward messages more regularly could use this feature to save some storage for the person on the other end. Speaking of storage, WhatsApp has recently rolled out a new storage management tool as well. It helps in deleting unnecessary media in a go.
Would you utilise this feature? And, did you find the step by step process useful? Do let us know.